Achievement Awards

Each year ITS Minnesota recognizes one individual from the public sector and one individual from the private sector who have made outstanding contributions to the field of ITS.

Ron Rajkowski
Ron Rajkowski
Craig Carlson
Craig Carlson

In 2012 ITS Minnesota formally named the private sector award the “Carlson-Rajkowski Award” in honor of Craig Carlson and Ron Rajkowski, employees of Egan Company who were killed in a tragic work zone accident along I-35W in Burnsville on October 13, 2011. As experienced professionals, Craig and Ron had deep ties to Minnesota’s transportation industry, especially in the design, integration and deployment of ITS. Craig Carlson was an innovative outdoor electrical leader at Egan whose work focused on designing transit signal priority systems, fiber backbone communications, traffic signal optimization and other technologies that provide real-time information to road users. Working closely with Craig, Ron Rajkowski led the field construction and deployment efforts for Egan ITS projects, closely supervising each project to ensure its overall quality and safety. Craig and Ron were both committed to building and maintaining an intelligent, safe Minnesota transportation system. The ITS Minnesota private sector award has been renamed to reflect their professional standards of excellence and continued commitment to Minnesota’s transportation industry and ITS in particular.

Award recipients demonstrate outstanding contributions to advance ITS in Minnesota. Contributions may be demonstrated through exceptional leadership, innovative projects, education and outreach efforts, collaborative partnerships, or support of the ITS Minnesota and Minnesota Guidestar organizations.

Nominations are sought from members at the beginning of each calendar year in conjunction with nominations for the ITS Minnesota board of directors. Award recipients are then recognized at the ITS Minnesota Annual Meeting each spring.

Previous Achievement Award Recipients

YearPublic Sector
Achievement Award
Carlson-Rajkowski (Private Sector)
Achievement Award
2014 Brian Kary and Kelly Braunig, MnDOT Janelle Borgen, WSB
2013 Ray Starr, MnDOT Mike Granger, Street Smart Rental
2012 Sue Sheehan, MnDOT Egan Company
2011 Colonel Al Smith, Minnesota State Patrol Dean Deeter, Athey Creek Consultants
2010 Nick Thompson, MnDOT Craig Carlson, Egan Company
2009 Max Donath, U of M ITS Institute Daryl Taavola, URS Corporation
2008 Terry Haukom, MnDOT Durga Panda, Image Sensing Systems
2007 Bernie Arsenau, MnDOT
Kathy Swanson, DPS
Dean Larson, International Idea Institute
2006 Marthand Nookala, Hennepin County Jeff Nicholson, ADDCO
2005 Dawn Spanhake, U of M CTS Brian Scott, SRF Consulting Group
2004 Bill Gardner, MnDOT Dennis Foderberg, Iteris
2003   Doug Differt, URS Corporation
2002 George Welk, MnDOT Stephen Manhart, Bolton and Menk


Previous Special Award Recipients

  • Ferrol Robinson, U of M Humphrey Institute, Lifetime Achievement, 2010
  • Dennis Foderberg, SEH, Lifetime Achievement, 2008
  • Bob Provost, Citizen Representative, 2006
  • Gordon Melby, C3 Trans; Roberta Dwyer, MnDOT; Dan Rickels, TC&W
  • Project Award - MnDOT District 4 Connect Detroit Lakes ITS for Snow & Ice Operations, 2009