Scholarship Applications

ITS Minnesota is pleased to announce its 2019 undergraduate and graduate student scholarship competition. As part of this competition, ITS Minnesota will present the following awards (follow links for the application):

Applications are due on September 13th, 2019.

Please feel free to contact Jacob Folkeringa at or 763-452-4730 with questions about these scholarships.

ITS Minnesota Awards

Each year ITS Minnesota recognizes one individual from the public sector and one individual from the private sector who have made outstanding contributions to the field of ITS.

Craig Carlson

Craig Carlson

Ron Rajkowski

Ron Rajkowski

In 2012 ITS Minnesota formally named the private sector award the “Carlson-Rajkowski Award” in honor of Craig Carlson and Ron Rajkowski, employees of Egan Company who were killed in a tragic work zone accident along I-35W in Burnsville on October 13, 2011. As experienced professionals, Craig and Ron had deep ties to Minnesota’s transportation industry, especially in the design, integration and deployment of ITS. Craig Carlson was an innovative outdoor electrical leader at Egan whose work focused on designing transit signal priority systems, fiber backbone communications, traffic signal optimization and other technologies that provide real-time information to road users. Working closely with Craig, Ron Rajkowski led the field construction and deployment efforts for Egan ITS projects, closely supervising each project to ensure its overall quality and safety. Craig and Ron were both committed to building and maintaining an intelligent, safe Minnesota transportation system. The ITS Minnesota private sector award has been renamed to reflect their professional standards of excellence and continued commitment to Minnesota’s transportation industry and ITS in particular.

Award recipients demonstrate outstanding contributions to advance ITS in Minnesota. Contributions may be demonstrated through exceptional leadership, innovative projects, education and outreach efforts, collaborative partnerships, or support of the ITS Minnesota and Minnesota Guidestar organizations.

Nominations are sought from members at the beginning of each calendar year in conjunction with nominations for the ITS Minnesota board of directors. Award recipients are then recognized at the ITS Minnesota Annual Meeting each spring.

Year Public Sector Carlson-Rajkowski (Private Sector)
2016 Doug Lau, MnDOT Erik Minge, SRF Consulting Group
2015 Jim Kranig, MnDOT Linda Priesen, Athey Creek Consultants
2014 Brian Kary and Kelly Braunig, MnDOT Janelle Borgen, WSB
2013 Ray Starr, MnDOT Mike Granger, Street Smart Rental
2012 Sue Sheehan, MnDOT Egan Company
2011 Colonel Al Smith, Minnesota State Patrol Dean Deeter, Athey Creek Consultants
2010 Nick Thompson, MnDOT Craig Carlson, Egan Company
2009 Max Donath, U of M ITS Institute Daryl Taavola, URS Corporation
2008 Terry Haukom, MnDOT Durga Panda, Image Sensing Systems
2007 Bernie Arsenau, MnDOT & Dean Larson, International Idea Institute
Kathy Swanson, DPS
2006 Marthand Nookala, Hennepin County Jeff Nicholson, ADDCO
2005 Dawn Spanhake, U of M CTS Brian Scott, SRF Consulting Group
2004 Bill Gardner, MnDOT Dennis Foderberg, Iteris
2003 Doug Differt, URS Corporation
2002 George Welk, MnDOT Stephen Manhart, Bolton and Menk

Special Awards

  • Mike Mauren, Lifetime Achievement, 2015

  • Ferrol Robinson, U of M Humphrey Institute, Lifetime Achievement, 2010

  • Dennis Foderberg, SEH, Lifetime Achievement, 2008

  • Bob Provost, Citizen Representative, 2006

  • Gordon Melby, C3 Trans; Roberta Dwyer, MnDOT; Dan Rickels, TC&W

  • Project Award - MnDOT District 4 Connect Detroit Lakes ITS for Snow & Ice Operations, 2009

Scholarship Awards

Each year ITS Minnesota recognizes graduate and undergraduate students who have demonstrated an interest in ITS

Year Graduate Award Undergraduate Award
2018 Pramesh Kumar, University of Minnesota Matthew Henderson, University of Minnesota – Duluth
Raju Thapa, Iowa State University Aisling O’Reilly, University of Minnesota
2017 Vesal Ahsani, Iowa State University Lucas Fontana, Minnesota State University - Mankato
Chenhui Liu, Iowa State University Kyle Kucharski, University of Minnesota
2016 Riley Gordon, University of Minnesota
Shaluka Samarasena, University of Minnesota
Zachary Toberna, University of Minnesota
2015 Indrajit Chatterjee, University of Minnesota Kristin Carlson, University of Minnesota
Zhejun Liu, University of Minnesota Eric Francen, University of Minnesota
2014 Jianfeng Zheng
2011 Indrajit Chatterjee, University of Minnesota Paul Anderson, University of Minnesota
Ravishankar Sivalingam, Univeristy of Minnesota Katie Maurer, Iowa State University
2010 Xuan Di, University of Minnesota Ghislan Adaldedjan, MN State University Mankato
Daniel Drew, University of Minnesota Pamela Erickson, Iowa State University
2009 Xinkai Wu, University of Minnesota Bo Wang, Iowa State University
Shan Hu, University of Minnesota Duluth Michael Machacek, University of Minnesota
2008 Ajay Joshi Jacob Folkeringa, University of Minnesota
Krisna V Ryan B
2007 Tyler Patterson, University of Minnesota Jacob Folkeringa, University of Minnesota
Wenteng Ma Joseph Pond, University of Minnesota
2006 Wuping Xin
2004 Xi Zou, University of Minnesota
Jeffrey Sharkey, University of Minnesota Duluth